You are here

People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616
Office Hours: By Appt
GRB 340
Part-time Lecturer
babbie@uw.edu / 206-543-6282
Photo of Anis Bawarshi
Professor
Chair
Thomas L. & Margo G. Wyckoff Endowed Professor
bawarshi@uw.edu / 206-543-2690
Office Hours: By appointment
PDL A-101
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682
Office Hours: Office Hours: email me to set up a phone appointment
PDL B-407
Megan Callow
Associate Teaching Professor
Director of Writing, UW Seattle
Director, Program for Writing Across Campus
mcallow@uw.edu
Office Hours: Summer 2023 (A-term): MW 9:30-10:30 am (Zoom only) and by appointment - please email.
PDL A11-E
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
Andrew R. Hilen Professor of American Literature and Culture
Director of Graduate Studies
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-6077
Office Hours: Thursday 3-5 PM and by appt
PDL A-105
Close up of Laura Chrisman
Professor
Nancy K. Ketcham Endowed Chair of English
lhc3@uw.edu / N/A
Office Hours: T: 1-2 pm (office); Th, virtual, by email appt
PDL B-401
Recent photo of me
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
sclare@uw.edu
Office Hours: TH 12:45 - 1:45 and by appointment
PDL A-419
Catherine Cole
Professor
colecat@uw.edu / 206-543-7045
Office Hours: By appointment on M&W 3:30-4:30PM
Padelford B435
Photo of a Black woman with an afro smiling under neon lights
Part-time Lecturer
stephcol@uw.edu
Office Hours: TW 1:30-2:30PM BY APPOINTMENT
PDL B28
Head Shot David Crouse
Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755
Office Hours: T 1:30 - 300 PM
PDL B-430 & B-025 Creative Writing Director's Office
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-9865
Office Hours: M&W 1-2
PDL B-432
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 2:30-3:30, and by appointment
PDL B-424
Part-time Lecturer
ghasedi@uw.edu
Office Hours: M: 12-1; W 10-11; and by appointment
Regular office hours on Zoom; by appointment office hours either on Zoom or at HUB Starbucks
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Teaching Professor
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892
Office Hours: MW, 3:30-4:30 p.m., in-person and via Zoom (contact me for link); also by appt.
PDL A-305
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179
Office Hours: by appointment
PDL A-507
Hitchman Head Shot
Faculty Mentor, Program in Writing and Rhetoric
Acting Assistant Professor
hitchmk@uw.edu
Office Hours: T & Th from 10:00 - 11:00am
PDL A-308
Professor Ishii, photographed against that Seattle grey
Assistant Professor
dsishii@uw.edu
Office Hours: On leave: contact for appointment
PDL B-419
Monika Kaup
Professor
mkaup@uw.edu / 206-543-7989
Office Hours: Winter 2024: Wed 3:30 - 4:30 pm (remote), and by appointment
PDL B-433
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
rk@uw.edu / 360 379 1446
Office Hours: Tuesdays, noon to one, and by appointment. In Rome SQ
PDL B-437
Stephanie Kerschbaum head shot
Professor
Director, Program in Writing and Rhetoric
kersch@uw.edu
Office Hours: WI24: M 1-2 p.m., Th 12-1 p.m. and by appointment
Padelford A-11F
Michelle smiling in front of the UW library
Faculty Mentor, Program in Writing and Rhetoric
Teaching Professor
msmliu@uw.edu
Office Hours: TuTh 12:30-1:20
PDL A-420
Carrie Matthews
Associate Director, Program in Writing and Rhetoric
Associate Teaching Professor
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214
Office Hours: Winter 2024: T , 4:20-5:20 outside Paccar 492; & Th, 12-1 pm, Padelford A-20, & by appointment
PDL A-20
Alex McCauley
Part-time Lecturer
apmccau@uw.edu
Office Hours: TTh 3-4
PDL - A2J
McCue
Teaching Professor
mccuef@uw.edu / 206-931-3779
Office Hours: By Appointment via zoom: https://washington.zoom.us/j/8045275920
Padelford B434 and Zoom: https://washington.zoom.us/j/8045275920
Sitting in the library
Acting Assistant Professor
medinad@uw.edu
Office Hours: TTH 10:30-11:30, TH 12:30-13:20, and By appointment
PDL A-302
Associate Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274
Office Hours: By appointment
PDL B436
Calvin Pollak stands in a jacket and button up shirt on UW campus.
Assistant Teaching Professor
cpollak@uw.edu
Office Hours: Via Zoom. Please reach out via email to schedule a meeting.
portrait photo of Anna Preus
Assistant Professor
apreus@uw.edu
Office Hours: T: 1-2 [virtual: email for link], Th: 11:30-12:30 [in person)
PDL B-426
Brian Reed
Professor
Divisional Dean of Humanities
Milliman Endowed Chair in the Humanities
bmreed@uw.edu / (206) 685-9969
Office Hours: By appointment
CMU 50
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357
Office Hours: On Professional Leave until 01/01/2024; Email Contact and Zoom Calls Available
PDL A-412
Assistant Professor
jar0118@uw.edu
PDL B-405
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / 206-543-4264
Office Hours: M 12-1, W 3-4 and by appointment
Padelford B-431
Henry Staten
Professor
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
hstaten@uw.edu / 206-779-1098
Office Hours: M-W 10-11
PDL B-409
Dr. Anu in a red dress in conversation
Teaching Professor
Joint Appointment with Comparative History of Ideas (CHID)
anu@uw.edu
Office Hours: by appointment
virtual office hours
Pimone Triplett
Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163
Office Hours: by appointment (please just email to schedule)
PDL A-416
Norman Wacker
Associate Teaching Professor
nwacker@uw.edu / 206-685-3804
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 10:30 - 11:30
PDL A-14
Shawn Wong
Professor
Byron and Alice Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941
Office Hours: MW 2-3 or by Zoom M-F
PDL B-423
Kathleen Woodward
Professor
Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
kw1@uw.edu / 206-543-3920
Office Hours: BY Appt
COMM 206

Emeriti Faculty

Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Chaney, Chris Affilliate Assistan Professor cchaney@spu.edu
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
Roraback, Erik Affiliate Associate Professor erikr9@uw.edu
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082

In Memoriam

Name Title
Allen, Carolyn Professor Emerita
Wagoner, David Professor Emeritus
Share