People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Bob Abrams
Professor
rabrams@uw.edu / 206-543-4076 / PDL B-427
Office Hours: MW 5:30 PM-6:30 PM
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
Part-time Lecturer
babbie@uw.edu / 206-543-6282 / PDL B-415
Office Hours: 12:30-1:30 Tuesday and Thursday
Bierds photo
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
lbierds@uw.edu / 206-543-9623 / PDL B-403
Office Hours: Tuesday, Thursday 11:30-12:30 and by appointment
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: Mon. 7:15-9:15 pm email me first to secure an appt.
Megan Callow
Senior Lecturer
Director, Interdisciplinary Writing Program
mcallow@uw.edu / PDL A11-E
Office Hours: Autumn, 2019: Tu 9:45am-10:45am & Th, 11am-12pm and by appointment. Please email me.
Part-time Lecturer
cecild@uw.edu / A504
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
Andrew R. Hilen Professor of American Literature and Culture
Director of Graduate Studies
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-2287 / PDL A-103
Office Hours: ENGL 202: F 11:45-1:15 in Suzzallo 102; Grad students: MW 1-3 in A-105 and by appointment
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430 and Creative Writing Director's Office
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 2:00 to 4:00 and by appointment
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-432
Office Hours: MW 3:00-4:00
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635 / PDL B-424
Office Hours: Thursday 12-2 and by appointment
Dr. Laurie George
Principal Lecturer
elgeorge@uw.edu / 206-543-3832 / PDL B-406
Office Hours: On Leave Autumn 2019
Part-time Lecturer
bgard4@uw.edu / 206-543-2707 / PDL B-435
Office Hours: T/Th 3:30 - 4:30 PM
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Principal Lecturer
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892 / PDL A-305
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., and by appointment
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: MT 10:30 am-12:00 pm
Juan Guerra
Professor
Chair, Department of American Ethnic Studies
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Office Hours: By Appt
Gillian Harkins
Associate Professor
gharkins@uw.edu / PDL A-306
Office Hours: W 12-2 & by appt.
Part-time Lecturer
helty@uw.edu / Suzzalo Cafe
Office Hours: MW 11:30-12:30
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
rk@uw.edu / 206-543-2289 / PDL B-437
Office Hours: M & W 10:15 - 11:15
knight_img
Associate Professor
jtknight@uw.edu / 206-543-2286 / PDL A-417
Office Hours: Th 11-3
LaPorte photo
Associate Professor
laporte@uw.edu / 206-543-7881 / PDL A-508
Office Hours: On Leave AQ 2019
Senior Lecturer
laws@astro.washington.edu / 206-221-7949 / PABB 349
Michelle Liu
Assistant Director, English 111
Senior Lecturer
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
Office Hours: M 12:30 pm-2:00 pm & W 12:30-1:00 pm; also by appointment
Part-time Lecturer
jenanne@uw.edu / PDL A-18
Office Hours: F 2-4pm
Carrie Matthews
Senior Lecturer
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214 / PDL A-20
Office Hours: Autumn Quarter 2019: T 12-1 pm & W 11 am-12 noon
Colette Moore
Associate Professor
cvmoore@uw.edu / 206-543-2182 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: by appointment
Paul Morton
Part-time Lecturer
pwm5@uw.edu / PDL A-503
Office Hours: T 1:30-3:30pm
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / smotha@uw.edu / PDL A-413
Office Hours: On Leave
Part-time Lecturer
sharmila@uw.edu
Kate Norako photo
Assistant Professor
lknorako@uw.edu / PDL A-309
Office Hours: Wednesdays 1:30-3pm and by appointment
Assistant Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274 / B436
Office Hours: By appointment
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-305-8477 / PDL A-403
Office Hours: Tu. & Thur. 10:30-11:30 and by appointment
Photo of Candice
Associate Professor
Director, Expository Writing
crai@uw.edu / 206-543-0758 / PDL A-011F
Office Hours: Th 1-2:30, F 9:30-11 or by appointment
Brian Reed
Professor
Divisional Dean of Humanities
Milliman Endowed Chair in the Humanities
bmreed@uw.edu / (206) 685-9969 / CMU 50
Office Hours: By appointment
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / PDL A-412
Office Hours: WED 12:30-2:30
headshot
Professor
js37@uw.edu / 206-543-2636 / A501
Office Hours: on leave; by appointment
Photo
Part-time Lecturer
simons6@uw.edu / PDL A-308
Office Hours: Wednesday 2:30-4:30
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / please email / PDL B-431
Office Hours: On leave. Please email for an appointment.
Henry Staten
Professor
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
hstaten@uw.edu / 206-685-4965 / PDL B-409
Office Hours: On Leave Autumn 2019
Jesse Oak Taylor
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
jot8@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-002A
Office Hours: On Leave Autumn 2019
Pimone Triplett
Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: by appointment (please just email to schedule)
Part-time Lecturer
PDL A-505
Office Hours: Fri 11am-12pm & by appt.
Norman Wacker
Senior Lecturer
nwacker@uw.edu / 206-685-3805 / PDL A-14
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 10:00 -11:00 a.m.
John Webster Washington
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Office Hours: MW 2:45-4pm
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: MW 1:00-3:00 and by appointment
Kathleen Woodward
Professor
Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
kw1@uw.edu / 206-543-3836 / COMM 206
Office Hours: BY Appt
Part-time Lecturer
rayouell@uw.edu / 206-543-2017 / PDL B-426

Emeritus Faculty

Carolyn Allen
Professor Emerita
callen@uw.edu / 206-543-7883 / PDL A-408
Office Hours: By Appointment
Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Raimonda Modiano
Professor Emerita
modiano@uw.edu / 206-543-2503 / PDL B-419
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Officesort descending
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER