People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Bob Abrams
Professor
rabrams@uw.edu / 206-543-4076 / PDL B-427
Office Hours: MW 5:30-6:30
Carolyn Allen
Professor
Director, Graduate Programs
callen@uw.edu / 206-543-6077 / PDL A-105
Office Hours: BY APPT
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
Linda Bierds photo
Professor
lbierds@uw.edu / 206-543-9623 / PDL B-403
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 11 am--noon
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: Not Teaching
Part-time Lecturer
lizcb@uw.edu / A504
Office Hours: M/W 2:30-3:30 at Parnassus Cafe or by appt.
Jessica Burstein
Associate Professor
jb2@uw.edu / 206-616-4181 / PDL A-502
Office Hours: Thurs 10-12 and by appointment.
Megan Callow
Lecturer
Associate Director, Interdisciplinary Writing
mcallow@uw.edu / PDL A-020
Office Hours: Spring, 2017: Tuesdays & Thursdays 11:00-11:50am & By appointment
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-2287 / PDL A-411
Office Hours: Th 11:30-12:30 and by appt. FOR ENGLISH 204A students ONLY: T, 3:30-4:30, Suzzallo library cafe
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3 - 4:00 or by appointment
Associate Professor
ckate@uw.edu / 206-543-6356 / PDL A-308
Office Hours: TH: 2:30-4:30 and by appt
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Director, Creative Writing
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-025E
Office Hours: T: 12-2
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635 / PDL B-424
Office Hours: MW 1:30-2:30 and by appointment (Spring 2017)
Principal Lecturer
elgeorge@uw.edu / 206-543-3832 / PDL B-406
Office Hours: M & W 3:20 - 4:20, Denny, by appt.
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Principal Lecturer
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892 / PDL A-305
Office Hours: Not Teaching
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: MT: 10:30-12
Juan Guerra
Professor
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Office Hours: By Appt
Gillian Harkins
Associate Professor
gharkins@uw.edu / PDL A-306
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:30-3:30
Visiting Lecturer
billhar@uw.edu / 206-543-7895 / A406
Office Hours: MW: 9-10
Part-time Lecturer
helty@uw.edu / 206-543-7984 / Suzzalo Cafe
Office Hours: TTH: 1:30-2:30
Sydney Kaplan
Professor
sydneyk@uw.edu / 206-685-1538 / PDL A-302
Office Hours: TTH: 2:30-3:30
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
rk@uw.edu / 206-543-2289 / PDL B-437
Office Hours: Wednesday 11:00 - 12:00, and by appointment
Photo
Associate Professor
jtknight@uw.edu / 206-543-2286 / PDL A-417
Office Hours: T 2:30-3:20
LaPorte photo
Associate Professor
laporte@uw.edu / 206-543-7881 / PDL A-508
Office Hours: M 11:30-1:30
Senior Lecturer
laws@astro.washington.edu / 206-221-7949 / PABB 349
Michelle Liu
Assistant Director, English 111
Senior Lecturer
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
Office Hours: TuTh 12:30-1:20
Part-time Lecturer
maleys@uw.edu / 206-543-2274 / PDL B-436
Office Hours: Wed 1:30-3:30pm
Carrie Matthews
Senior Lecturer
Director, Interdisciplinary Writing
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214 / PDL A-11E
Office Hours: Mondays, 11-3 and T/Th 12:15-1:30
Colette Moore
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
cvmoore@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-002A
Office Hours: T 2:30-3:30; Th 10:30-11:30
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / 206-543-2243 / PDL A-413
Office Hours: By appointment (times and locations variable for student teachers)
John O'Neill
Senior Lecturer
joneill@uw.edu / 206-543-2706 / PDL A-016
Office Hours: Wednesday, 1:30-3:00 and by appointment
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-543-7880 / PDL A-403
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 11:30-12:20 and by appointment
Senior Lecturer
popov@uw.edu / 206-543-2483 / PDL A-415
Office Hours: TH: 1:30-2:25
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / PDL A-412
Office Hours: W: 1:30-3:30
Assistant Professor
sandhu28@uw.edu / 206-543-4233 / PDL B-425
Office Hours: MW: 2:30-3:30; F: 12:30-1:30
Leroy Searle
Professor
English and Comparative Literature
Joff Hanauer Honors Professor in Western Civilization
lsearle@uw.edu / 206-409-8878 / PDL B-426
Photo of David Shields
Professor
dshields@davidshields.com / 206-543-2247 / PDL A-414
Office Hours: Not teaching
headshot
Associate Professor
js37@uw.edu / 206-543-2636 / PDL A-501
Office Hours: In Scotland
Elizabeth Simmons-O'Neill
Associate Director, Expository Writing Program
Principal Lecturer
esoneill@uw.edu / 206-685-3804 / PDL A-014
Office Hours: Mondays 8:30-10:00 am and by appointment
Acting Instructor
hls2@uw.edu / 206-616-5690 / PDL B-432
Office Hours: T/Th 11:50-12:50
China March 2017
Professor
stygall@uw.edu / 206-685-2384 / PDL A-311
Office Hours: Monday, 1:00-3:00 pm and by appt
Pimone Triplett
Associate Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-525-3040 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: T 3:10-4:10 and by appointment
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Office Hours: In London
Alys Weinbaum
Associate Professor
alysw@uw.edu / 206-543-7797 / PDL B-408
Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:30-5:30 and by appointment
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: Office hours during the last four weeks of Spring Quarter 2017 will be by appointment only, Monday through Friday, due to demand.

Emeritus Faculty

Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Photo of Roger Sale
Professor Emeritus
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514