People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Bob Abrams
Professor
rabrams@uw.edu / 206-543-4076 / PDL B-427
Office Hours: MW 5:25-6:25 PM
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
Anis Bawarshi
Professor
Associate Chair
bawarshi@uw.edu / 206-543-9400 / PDL A-404
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 3:30-4:30; Tuesdays 9:30-10:30
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: By appt only, Tues. 7:15-8:30 pm
Part-time Lecturer
lizcb@uw.edu / Padelford A504
Office Hours: Tuesdays/Thursdays, 3:30-4:30, at Parnassus Cafe
Study Abroad Program Faculty
Jessica Burstein
Associate Professor
jb2@uw.edu / 206-616-4181 / PDL A-502
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 11-12 and by appointment
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-2287 / PDL A-411
Office Hours: Friday, 11-1 and by appt.
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430
Office Hours: 2:00 to 3:00 on Tuesday and Thursday
Associate Professor
ckate@uw.edu / 206-543-6356 / PDL A-308
Profile photo
Lecturer
daniej9@uw.edu / 206-616-2349 / PDL A-021
Office Hours: Tuesday 10:30-11:30, Wednesday 2:00-3:00 PM
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Director, Creative Writing
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-432
Office Hours: MW 1:00-2:00
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635 / PDL B-424
Office Hours: MW 12-1 p.m. and by appointment (email preferred)
Dr. Laurie George
Principal Lecturer
elgeorge@uw.edu / 206-543-3832 / PDL B-406
Office Hours: 230 - 3:20 M and W by confirmed appt only in Anderson or MGH; email appt. query first
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Principal Lecturer
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892 / PDL A-305
Office Hours: MW, 10:30-11:30, and by appt.
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: MTu 9:30-11 a.m.
Juan Guerra
Professor
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Office Hours: By Appt
Part-time Lecturer
helty@uw.edu / Suzzalo Cafe
Office Hours: T/TH 2:30-3:30
EJaccard
Part-time Lecturer
amory79@uw.edu / 206-685-9951 / PDL B-410
Office Hours: Tuesdays 1:30-2:20 and Thursdays 4:30 - 5:40
Monika Kaup
Professor
mkaup@uw.edu / 206-543-7989 / PDL B-433
Office Hours: T Th 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. (winter quarter 2018)
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
rk@uw.edu / 206-543-2289 / PDL B-437
Office Hours: Tuesday & Thursday, 3 - 4, or by appointment
LaPorte photo
Associate Professor
laporte@uw.edu / 206-543-7881 / PDL A-508
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:20
Senior Lecturer
laws@astro.washington.edu / 206-221-7949 / PABB 349
Michelle Liu
Assistant Director, English 111
Senior Lecturer
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
Office Hours: MW 12:30-1:30
Part-time Lecturer
maleys@uw.edu / 206-543-2274 / PDL B-435
Office Hours: W 1:30-3:30pm
Carrie Matthews
Senior Lecturer
Director, Interdisciplinary Writing
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214 / PDL A-11E
Office Hours: Mondays & Wednesdays, 12 noon-1 p.m.; Tuesdays, 11 a.m.-3 p.m.
Colette Moore
Associate Professor
cvmoore@uw.edu / 206-543-2182 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: T 2:30-4:30
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / PDL A-413
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 1:15-2:15
Part-time Lecturer
sharmila@uw.edu / B5C
Kate Norako photo
Assistant Professor
lknorako@uw.edu / PDL A-309
Office Hours: Winter Quarter: Wednesdays 1-2:20pm
John O'Neill
Senior Lecturer
joneill@uw.edu / 206-543-2706 / PDL A-016
Assistant Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274 / B436
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-543-7880 / PDL A-403
Senior Lecturer
popov@uw.edu / 206-543-2483 / PDL A-415
Office Hours: Thur 9:30-11:30 or by appt.
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / PDL A-412
Leroy Searle
Professor
English and Comparative Literature
Joff Hanauer Honors Professor in Western Civilization
lsearle@uw.edu / 206-409-8878 / PDL B-426
Office Hours: T & Th 3:45-5:00 PM, Hub Ground Floor, Mezzanine; By appt in PDL B-426
Part Time Lecturer
shajirat@uw.edu / 206-543-2298 / PDL A-405
Office Hours: M 2:30-4:30
Photo of David Shields
Professor
dshields@davidshields.com / 206-543-2247 / PDL A-414
headshot
Professor
Director, Graduate Programs
js37@uw.edu / 206-543-2636 / PDL A-105
Office Hours: M 1-3 and W 10-12
Sandra Silberstein
Professor
tq@uw.edu / 206-543-7993 / PDL A-401
Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:30 & by appointment
Elizabeth Simmons-O'Neill
Associate Director, Expository Writing Program
Principal Lecturer
esoneill@uw.edu / 206-685-3804 / PDL A-014
Office Hours: Winter 2018: W 9:00-10:20 and by appointment
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / 206-543-9865 / PDL B-025
Office Hours: TH 10-12 and by appointment
Part Time Lecturer
hls2@uw.edu / 206-616-5690 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: T/Th 12:50-1:50
photo of Anu Taranath
Senior Lecturer
anu@uw.edu / 206-543-2622 / PDL A-506
Office Hours: Teaching Abroad in Winter 2018
Jesse Oak Taylor
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
jot8@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-002A
Office Hours: Wed. 10-11 & by appointment
Pimone Triplett
Associate Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: Fridays 3:30-5:30
John Webster Washington
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Office Hours: TuTh 3:30-4:30
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: MW 10:00-11:00, other days available by appt.

Emeritus Faculty

Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Officesort descending
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER