You are here

Past Roethke Readers

Past Roethke readers include a good many Pulitzer Prizes, MacArthur Fellowships, and National Book Awards among their accomplishments. The accompanying pictures are for the most part those submitted at the time by the poets for use in publicity flyers.  From 1975 through 1979, Betty Bigelow, a local artist, produced handsome line drawings of the poets, based on their publicity photos, for use in the Roethke Reading announcements.

Alice Fulton 2016 Alice Fulton
 David Ferry 2015 David Ferry
 Ellen Bryant Voigt 2014 Ellen Bryant Voigt
 Kay Ryan 2013 Kay Ryan
 Heather McHugh 2012 Heather McHugh | Heather's home page
 D. A. Powell 2011 D. A. Powell
 Gyertrud Schnackenberg 2010 Gjertrud Schnackenberg
 Paul Muldoon 2009 Paul Muldoon
  2008 Mary Jo Salter and Brad Leithauser
  2007 Robert Bly | Robert's home page
  2006 W. D. Snodgrass
  2005 Adam Zagajewski
 C.K. Williams 2004 C. K. Williams
 X.J. Kennedy 2003 X. J. Kennedy
 Anthony Hecht 2002 Anthony Hecht
 Tomaz Salamun 2001 Tomaz Salamun
  2000 J. D. McClatchy
 Colleen McElroy 1999 Colleen J. McElroy
 Jorie Graham 1998 Jorie Graham
 Charles Wright 1997 Charles Wright
 Lucille Clifton 1996 Lucille Clifton
 Richard Howard 1995 Richard Howard
 Galway Kinnell 1994 Galway Kinnell
 Gerald Stern 1993 Gerald Stern
 Maxine Kumin 1992 Maxine Kumin
 Mark Strand 1991 Mark Strand
 Denine Levertov 1990 Denise Levertov
  1989 May Swenson
 Adrienne Rich 1988 Adrienne Rich
 Seamus Heaney 1987 Seamus Heaney
 james Merrill 1986 James Merrill
 Carolyn Kizer 1985 Carolyn Kizer
 Mona Van Duyn 1984 Mona van Duyn
 W.S. Merwin 1983 W. S. Merwin
 Robert Fitzgerald 1982 Robert S. Fitzgerald
 Donald Justice 1981 Donald Justice
 Philip Levine 1980 Philip Levine
 William Stafford 1979 William Stafford
 Muriel Rukuyser 1978 Muriel Rukeyser
 Richard Hugo 1977 Richard Hugo
 Gary Snyder 1976 Gary Snyder
 Stanley Kunitz 1975 Stanley Kunitz
 Elizabeth Bishop 1974 Elizabeth Bishop
 David Wagoner 1973 David Wagoner
 James Wright 1972 James Wright
  1971 Richard Wilbur
  1970 Howard Nemerov
  1969 John Berryman
  1968 Robert Penn Warren
  1967 Archibald MacLeish
  1966 Rolfe Humphries
  1965 Robert Lowell
  1964 John Crowe Ransom