Recent News

The Expository Writing Program and Critical Classrooms invites you to join Teacher Talk next Friday, January 31st from 10-11:30 facilitated by AJ Burgin, a Learning Specialist in Student-Athlete Academic Services. Teacher Talk is a discussion series with the goal of creating a space for graduate instructors and faculty to come together and share resources, discuss praxis, and present innovative practices. This is a fantastic opportunity for both new and returning instructors to collaborate with... Read more
The Expository Writing Program is proud to announce the recipients for the 2019-2020 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collaboration Grant. This grant is for graduate student groups and is focused on developing composition curriculum, teacher resources, and research initiatives that center issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the writing classroom. Additionally, this grant seeks to support projects that promote more equitable, inclusive, diverse,... Read more
Anis Bawarshi
After serving as acting chair last year, I am writing to you now in my role as department chair.  I am honored by the trust that colleagues and the College have placed in me and also humbled by the responsibility that comes with this position over the next five years. Last year’s departmental ten-year review brought with it an exigency for collective self-assessment and future planning that it is up to us to sustain. We now have a five-year Strategic Plan and are at work on a Diversity and... Read more
Professor Chad Allen, in collaboration with the School of Drama, has arranged for a staged reading of LeAnne Howe's new play-in-verse, Savage Conversations, directed by UW Drama MFA directing student Andrew Coopman.  LeAnne Howe (Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma) is a poet, fiction writer, playwright, and filmmaker. Her most recent book, Choctalking on Other Realities, won the inaugural 2014 MLA Prize for Studies in Native American Literatures, Cultures, and Languages. She is the Eidson... Read more
The novel No-No Boy by John Okada, originally published in 1957, was barely read during the author’s lifetime. Shawn Wong, UW professor of English, will share how young Asian American writers urged a new audience to recognize the book’s importance and launched its journey from obscurity to canonical work in Asian American literature.  More information can be found... Read more
david shields lynch history
This past spring English Matters announced the imminent release of Professor David Shields’ documentary film, Marshawn Lynch: A History (click for the trailer).  Since then Lynch premiered at the Seattle International Film Festival to great acclaim, was selected to appear in the... Read more
Ashley Beeman
In the past six months English department graduate and undergraduate students have harvested a legitimate bumper crop of fellowships, prizes, and grants. English Matters isn’t sure if this is a record season, but it certainly wouldn’t surprise us if it was.  Two things, largely, have coalesced in making this fall’s graduate student grant news so very good: we have excellent students, and we have spectacular alumni!  From the bottom of our hearts, we thank all alumni and donors who’ve... Read more
Merce Cunningham Summerspace
Comedian Martin Mull once quipped that writing about music is like dancing about architecture—in other words, seemingly absurd. Nevertheless, since I first wrote a short story about a Cubist baby, I have been doing just that—using one art to engage with another. For the past year and a half, I have turned my attention to the art of choreographer Merce Cunningham. I’m not alone in paying attention to Cunningham this year. Throughout 2019, dance companies, dance historians and critics, former... Read more
The English department's Expository Writing Program has been awarded a 2019-2020 Certificate of Excellence from the Conference on College Composition and Communication. This is a major national recognition and a well-deserved tribute to the remarkable work that EWP director Candice Rai and the EWP associate directors and mentors (Elizabeth Simmons O'Neill, Kimberlee Gillis Bridges, Michelle Liu, Jake Huebsch, and the assistant directors... Read more
Ayash Callow Taranath
With sadness, Department Chair Anis Bawarshi announces that our UW colleague Kim Johnson-Bogart passed away on September 26, at home, peacefully, with her daughter Sabina and granddaughter Cece at her side. “Those of us who worked with Kim know her as a teacher, mentor, and colleague, someone who in her most recent position in Advancement worked tirelessly to help faculty secure funding to launch their careers and fuel their research.  She worked at the... Read more