People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Bob Abrams
Professor
rabrams@uw.edu / 206-543-4076 / PDL B-427
Office Hours: MW 5:30-6:30pm
Carolyn Allen
Professor
callen@uw.edu / 206-543-7883 / PDL A-408
Office Hours: By Appointment
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
Anis Bawarshi
Professor
Associate Chair
bawarshi@uw.edu / 206-543-9400 / PDL A-404
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:30; T 9:30-10:30 and by appointment
Bierds photo
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
lbierds@uw.edu / 206-543-9623 / PDL B-403
Office Hours: T 2:30-4:30pm
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: Email first to make an appt. Wed: 3:50-4::20, 7:15-8:45 pm
Part-time Lecturer
lizcb@uw.edu / Padelford A504
Office Hours: Wednesdays, 12-2 p.m., at Cafe Solstice or by appointment
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
Andrew R. Hilen Professor of American Literature and Culture
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-2287 / PDL A-411
Office Hours: TH, 10:30-12:30 and by appt.
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430
Office Hours: 3:00 - 4:00 T - TH or by appointment
Associate Professor
ckate@uw.edu / 206-543-6356 / PDL A-308
Office Hours: tuesday 5:00-6:20 and by appointment
Profile photo
Lecturer
daniej9@uw.edu / 206-616-2349 / PDL A-021
Office Hours: Tuesday 1:15-2:15 / Wednesday 10:15-11:15 PM / Thursday 1:15-2:15
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Director, Creative Writing
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-432
Lecturer
ojf@uw.edu / PAB C324
Dr. Laurie George
Principal Lecturer
elgeorge@uw.edu / 206-543-3832 / PDL B-406
Office Hours: in London
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Principal Lecturer
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892 / PDL A-305
Office Hours: M, 12:30-2:20 p.m., and by appointment
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: 10:40 am - noon, Mondays and Tuesdays
Juan Guerra
Professor
Chair, Department of American Ethnic Studies
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Office Hours: By Appt
Gillian Harkins
Associate Professor
gharkins@uw.edu / PDL A-306
Office Hours: Email for Appointment
Part-time Lecturer
helty@uw.edu / Suzzalo Cafe
Office Hours: M/W 2:30-3:30
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
rk@uw.edu / 206-543-2289 / PDL B-437
Office Hours: WED 10:45 - 11:45
knight_img
Associate Professor
jtknight@uw.edu / 206-543-2286 / PDL A-417
Office Hours: Not Teaching
LaPorte photo
Associate Professor
laporte@uw.edu / 206-543-7881 / PDL A-508
Office Hours: M 11:30-1:30
Senior Lecturer
laws@astro.washington.edu / 206-221-7949 / PABB 349
Michelle Liu
Assistant Director, English 111
Senior Lecturer
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
Office Hours: T Th 1:30-2:20
Part-time Lecturer
maleys@uw.edu / 206-543-2707 / PDL B-435
Office Hours: Tuesdays 1-3pm and by appointment
Carrie Matthews
Senior Lecturer
Director, Interdisciplinary Writing
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214 / PDL A-11E
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 1-4; Wednesdays, 12 noon-2; Thursdays, 12 noon-2
McCue
Senior Lecturer
frances@francesmccue.com / 206-931-3779 / MGH 297
Office Hours: Available by Appointment--Teaching in ISS online
Raimonda Modiano
Professor
modiano@uw.edu / 206-543-2503 / PDL B-419
Office Hours: In Rome
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / PDL A-413
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays, 12:20-12:50 EEB 025 and 1:30-2:00 PM Padelford A413 (no office hours 4/26)
John O'Neill
Senior Lecturer
joneill@uw.edu / 206-543-2706 / PDL A-016
Office Hours: M 2:30-4:00 and by appt.
Assistant Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274 / B436
Office Hours: T/Th 4-5 p.m.
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-543-7880 / PDL A-403
Office Hours: Tu & Th 10:30-11:30
Candice Rai Profile
Associate Professor
Director, Expository Writing
crai@uw.edu / 206-543-0758 / PDL A-011F
Office Hours: M & F 9:30-12:30 pm, T 3-5pm, or by appointment
Brian Reed
Professor
Department Chair
Milliman Endowed Chair in the Humanities
bmreed@uw.edu / 206-543-2690 / PDL A-406
Office Hours: By appointment
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / PDL A-412
Office Hours: TH: 4:30-6:30
Leroy Searle
Professor
English and Comparative Literature
Joff Hanauer Honors Professor in Western Civilization
lsearle@uw.edu / 206-409-8878 / PDL B-426
Office Hours: M T 2:45 and by appointment HUB ground floor, Mezzanine
Part Time Lecturer
shajirat@uw.edu / 206-543-2298 / PDL A-405
Photo of David Shields
Professor
Milliman Distinguished Writer-in-Residence
dshields@davidshields.com / 206-543-2247 / PDL A-414
Office Hours: MW 2:50-3:30
headshot
Professor
Director, Graduate Programs
js37@uw.edu / 206-543-2636 / PDL A-105
Office Hours: by appointment
Elizabeth Simmons-O'Neill
Associate Director, Expository Writing Program
Principal Lecturer
esoneill@uw.edu / 206-685-3804 / PDL A-014
Office Hours: Spring 2018: Mondays 1:00-2:20 and by appointment
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / 206-543-9865 / PDL B-025
Office Hours: Thursday 9-11 am and by appointment
Part Time Lecturer
hls2@uw.edu / 206-616-5690 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: MW 10:00-10:30 and 12:30-1:00
Henry Staten
Professor
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
hstaten@uw.edu / 206-685-4965 / PDL B-409
Office Hours: in Spain
Jesse Oak Taylor
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
jot8@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-002A
Office Hours: Not Teaching
Pimone Triplett
Associate Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:10-4:10 by appointment (please just email to schedule)
Norman Wacker
Senior Lecturer
nwacker@uw.edu / 206-685-3805 / PDL A-18
Office Hours: Monday & Wednesday 11:40 – 12:40 p.m.
John Webster Washington
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Office Hours: Tu Fri 2:00 and by appt. Please email first to be sure I'm not called away!
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 9:30-5:00 by appointment only (Times not available MW 10:30-12:30 and TuTh 2:30-4:30)
Kathleen Woodward
Professor
Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
kw1@uw.edu / 206-543-3836 / COMM 206
Office Hours: BY Appt

Emeritus Faculty

Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514