2018-19 Expository Writing Program Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collaboration Grant Winners

Submitted by Jacob Dwaine Huebsch on

The Expository Writing Program is thrilled to announce the recipients for the 2018-19 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collaboration Grant. This grant is for graduate student groups and is focused on developing composition curriculum, teacher resources, and research initiatives that center issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the writing classroom. Additionally, these grants seek to foster collaboration, conversation, and community among writing teachers invested in equity work. You can read more about the EWP seed grant and application process here.

Three collaboration groups were selected in the Fall of 2018 and are working on projects in Winter and Spring 2019 that range from developing equity-based curricula to designing and holding a workshop for both University of Washington instructors and UW in the High School teachers that centers issues of diversity, equity and inclusion. Please look for announcements concerning these activities on the English Newsfeed and Newsletter.

The grant recipients are:

Thaomi Michelle Dinh & Rachel Yim Schlotfeldt - "Equity Based Curricula for Incoming TAs to Teach Collaboratively"

Jessica Holmes, Kathleen Reeves, Alycia Gilber, Lisa Rice, David Vinson & Rachelle Horner - "Foregrounding Equity in EWP Teaching Across Institutional Settings"

Max Lane & T.J. Walker - "Increasing Access to Digital Storytelling"

Congratulations to these recipients!

For questions about this grant, please write to Candice Rai, Director of the Expository Writing Program at crai@uw.edu.