Expository Writing Program Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collaboration Grant Winners 2019-20

Submitted by Jacob Dwaine Huebsch on

The Expository Writing Program is proud to announce the recipients for the 2019-2020 Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collaboration Grant. This grant is for graduate student groups and is focused on developing composition curriculum, teacher resources, and research initiatives that center issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in the writing classroom. Additionally, this grant seeks to support projects that promote more equitable, inclusive, diverse, accessible, and socially just writing practices, curriculum, and classrooms and that contribute to our teaching community, encourage collaboration, and nurture professional growth. You can read more about the EWP seed grant and application process here.

Four collaboration groups were selected in at the end of Autumn Quarter 2019 and are working on projects in Winter and Spring 2020 that range from a roundtable on climate writing to exploring how to better implement autoethnography writing practices in the classroom. Please look for announcements concerning these activities on the English Newsfeed and Newsletter. 

You can find the project titles and links to the project teams below:

Autoethnography in the First-Year Writing Classroom

Participants: Sarah Ghasedi, Arna Elezovic, Shane Peterson, & Melissa Tombro

Collective Pedagogy for Teaching Poetics in the EWP Classroom

Participants: Nanya Jhingran, Haines Whitacre, Anna Ciummo, Alec Fisher, Vanessa Batyko, & katie walker

Climate Writing Roundtable: Why Humanities Teachers Must Teach Climate Writing and How to Get Started!

Participants: Jessica Holmes, Judy Twedt, Jessica Butterfield, & Annemarie Russell

Digital Lives, Digital Spaces: Toward a Critical Digital Pedagogy

Participants: Kaelie Giffel & Caitlin Postal