People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
Part-time Lecturer
babbie@uw.edu / 206-543-6282 / PDL B-415
Bierds photo
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
lbierds@uw.edu / 206-543-9623 / PDL B-403
Office Hours: Online only. Please email me for an appointment.
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: Office Hours: email me to set up a phone appointment
Jessica Burstein
Associate Professor
jb2@uw.edu / 206-616-4181 / PDL A-502
Office Hours: W 10.30-12.30 and by appointment: email me and we will connect.
Daniel J. Cecil writer
Part-time Lecturer
cecild@uw.edu / A405
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
Andrew R. Hilen Professor of American Literature and Culture
Director of Graduate Studies
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-6077 / PDL A-103
Photo of Stevi Costa
Part-Time Lecturer
scosta@uw.edu / Virutal via Zoom
Office Hours: Tues, 2-3 PM. Thurs, by appointment.
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430 & B-025 Creative Writing Director's Office
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-432
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635 / PDL B-424
Office Hours: For the spring 2020 quarter, email me at tfoster@uw.edu to set up an appointment for a Zoom meeting. I am generally available for such appointments on Thursdays between 3 and 5, but other times are also possible.
Part-time Lecturer
bgard4@uw.edu / 206-543-2707 / https://washington.zoom.us/j/897421136
Office Hours: T 10-12 AM
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: By appointment
Juan Guerra
Professor
Chair, Department of American Ethnic Studies
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Office Hours: By Appt
Monika Kaup
Professor
mkaup@uw.edu / 206-543-7989 / PDL B-433
Office Hours: M W 3:30 - 5:50 (remote; Zoom Meeting ID 613-648-521)
woman in sunglasses smiling
Part-time Lecturer
aekelly2@uw.edu / PAD A-401
Office Hours: Zoom meetings by appointment: Monday - Thursday mornings and Friday afternoons
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
rk@uw.edu / 360 379 1446 / PDL B-437
Senior Lecturer
laws@astro.washington.edu / 206-221-7949 / PABB 349
Michelle Liu
Associate Director of Writing Programs
Senior Lecturer
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
McCue
Senior Lecturer
mccuef@uw.edu / 206-931-3779 / Padelford B434
Office Hours: By appointment. I'm teaching for ISS this term.
Colette Moore
Associate Professor
cvmoore@uw.edu / 206-543-2182 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: by appointment
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / smotha@uw.edu / PDL A-413
Office Hours: On Leave
Assistant Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274 / 436B
Office Hours: By appointment
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-305-8477 / PDL A-403
Office Hours: Mon. & Wed. 10:30-11:30 and by appointment
Brian Reed
Professor
Divisional Dean of Humanities
Milliman Endowed Chair in the Humanities
bmreed@uw.edu / (206) 685-9969 / CMU 50
Office Hours: By appointment
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / PDL A-412
Office Hours: Thurs. 1:30-3:30
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / please email / B-431
Office Hours: Wednesdays 1-3, via Zoom (https://washington.zoom.us/j/583416440), and by appointment
Jesse Oak Taylor
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
jot8@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-002A
Office Hours: By Appointment
Pimone Triplett
Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: by appointment (please just email to schedule)
Part-time Lecturer
eucker@uw.edu
Part-time Lecturer
PDL A-505
John Webster Washington
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: On sabbatical leave until June 2020. Office hours, by appointment only.
Kathleen Woodward
Professor
Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
kw1@uw.edu / 206-543-3920 / COMM 206
Office Hours: BY Appt
Part-time Lecturer
rayouell@uw.edu / 206-543-2017 / PDL B-426

Emeritus Faculty

Carolyn Allen
Professor Emerita
callen@uw.edu / 206-543-7883 / PDL A-408
Office Hours: By Appointment
Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Namesort ascending Title Email / Phone Office
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514
Chaney, Chris Affilliate Assistan Professor cchaney@spu.edu
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211