People - Faculty

For Teaching Assistants, please see the Graduate Student directory.

Bob Abrams
Professor
rabrams@uw.edu / 206-765-0547 / PDL B-427
Office Hours: T, TH, 2:20-3:20, by appointment please: rabrams@uw.edu
Chadwick Allen
Professor
Associate Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Russell F. Stark University Professor
callen3@uw.edu / 206-543-6616 / GRB 340
Office Hours: By Appt
NY
Part-time Lecturer
lubnaa@uw.edu
Office Hours: Thursday 2-4 pm by appointment
Bierds photo
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
lbierds@uw.edu / 206-543-9623 / PDL B-403
Office Hours: Online only. Please email me for an appointment.
head shot
Professor
davidbos@uw.edu / 206-543-2682 / PDL B-407
Office Hours: Office Hours: email me to set up a phone appointment
Megan Callow
Associate Teaching Professor
Director, Interdisciplinary Writing Program
mcallow@uw.edu / PDL A11-E
Office Hours: Winter 2021: By appointment - please email.
Eva Cherniavsky
Professor
Andrew R. Hilen Professor of American Literature and Culture
Director of Graduate Studies
ec22@uw.edu / 206-543-6077 / PDL A-103
Office Hours: Weekly Thurs 2-4 and by appointment. Please email me to set a time and receive a link.
Close up of Laura Chrisman
Professor
Nancy K. Ketcham Endowed Chair of English
lhc3@uw.edu / 206-543-6045 / PDL B-401
Office Hours: Mondays 3.30-5.30pm, Zoom (please advance email to schedule a slot)
Catherine Cole
Professor
colecat@uw.edu / 206-543-7045 / Communications Building 050, Deans Office
Head Shot David Crouse
Associate Professor
dcrouse@uw.edu / 907-687-7755 / PDL B-430 & B-025 Creative Writing Director's Office
Office Hours: Wed. 12:00 - 1:30 or by appointment. Contact me.
Profile photo
Assistant Teaching Professor
daniej9@uw.edu / 206-616-2349 / PDL A-016
Office Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 10:00-11:00
Andrew Feld
Associate Professor
Editor, Seattle Review
aefeld@uw.edu / 206-543-7899 / PDL B-432
Tom Foster
Professor
tfoster@uw.edu / 206-543-8635 / PDL B-424
Office Hours: No in-person hours this quarter. Email me at tfoster@uw.edu to set up a Zoom appointment.
Kimberlee Gillis-Bridges
Teaching Professor
Director, Computer-Integrated Courses
kgb@uw.edu / 206-543-4892 / PDL A-305
Office Hours: M, 1:30-2:30 p.m. via Zoom, and by appt. Contact instructor for Zoom link
John Griffith
Associate Professor
jgriff@uw.edu / 206-543-2179 / PDL A-507
Office Hours: By appointment
Hitchman Head Shot
Part-time Lecturer
hitchmk@uw.edu / PDL B5J
Office Hours: Tuesdays from 3:30 - 4:30 & Wednesdays from 2:30 - 3:30 PMI: 641 211 3552
Monika Kaup
Professor
mkaup@uw.edu / 206-543-7989 / PDL B-433
Office Hours: Winter 2021: T Th 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. and by appointment (remote)
Professor Richard Kenney photo.
Professor
Grace M. Pollock Professor of Creative Writing
rk@uw.edu / 360 379 1446 / PDL B-437
Michelle Liu
Associate Director of Writing Programs
Associate Teaching Professor
msmliu@uw.edu / 206-543-1778 / PDL A-420
Office Hours: Th 11:30-12:30 and by appointment
Carrie Matthews
Associate Teaching Professor
crmatthe@uw.edu / 206-351-0214 / PDL A-20
Office Hours: Winter 2021: Thursdays, 12 noon-2 p.m., and by appointment
Alex McCauley
Part-time Lecturer
apmccau@uw.edu
Office Hours: W TH 3:50 - 4:50
McCue
Teaching Professor
mccuef@uw.edu / 206-931-3779 / Padelford B434
Office Hours: ZOOM on Mondays noon-1pm, except MLK Day and Presidents Day: Join URL: https://washington.zoom.us/j/94825273088
Sitting in the library
Acting Assistant Professor
medinad@uw.edu
Colette Moore
Associate Professor
cvmoore@uw.edu / 206-543-2182 / PDL B-421
Office Hours: MW 2:15-3:15 (contact for Zoom "office")
Suhanthie Motha
Associate Professor
smotha@uw.edu / smotha@uw.edu / PDL A-413
Office Hours: On Leave
Assistant Professor
parisr@uw.edu / (206) 543-2274 / 436B
Office Hours: By appointment
Mark Patterson
Associate Professor
Curriculum Coordinator, Scheduling
mpat@uw.edu / 206-305-8477 / PDL A-403
Office Hours: MW 11:30-12:30 and by appointment
Photo of Candice
Associate Professor
Director, Expository Writing
crai@uw.edu / 206-543-0758 / PDL A-011F
Office Hours: TH 10:30-11:30 and by Appointment, Email crai@uw.edu
Brian Reed
Professor
Divisional Dean of Humanities
Milliman Endowed Chair in the Humanities
bmreed@uw.edu / (206) 685-9969 / CMU 50
Office Hours: By appointment
Paul Remley
Professor
remley@uw.edu / 206-543-6357 / Virtual Office Hours via Canvas
Office Hours: Thurs. 2:30 to 4:30 and by appointment (remley@uw.edu)
headshot
Professor
js37@uw.edu / 206-543-2636 / A501
Office Hours: By appointment on zoom. Email to make an appointment.
Maya Sonenberg
Professor
mayas@uw.edu / please email / B-431
Office Hours: Thursday 9:30-11:30 pm & by appt. Email me for a Zoom link.
Dr. Anu in a red dress in conversation
Teaching Professor
Joint Appointment with Comparative History of Ideas (CHID)
anu@uw.edu / virtual office hours
Office Hours: Jan 6th, 12:00-1:15pm; Jan 14th, 12:00-1:30pm; Jan 21st, 1:00-2:30pm; Jan 27th, 1-2:30pm; Feb 3, Feb 10, Feb 17th, 1-2:30pm; Feb 24th, 10:30am-noon; March 3, March 10, 1-2:30pm
Jesse Oak Taylor
Associate Professor
Director, Undergraduate Programs
jot8@uw.edu / 206-616-0563 / PDL A-405
Office Hours: By Appointment
Pimone Triplett
Professor
ptrip@uw.edu / 206-618-2163 / PDL A-416
Office Hours: by appointment (please just email to schedule)
Norman Wacker
Associate Teaching Professor
nwacker@uw.edu / 206-685-3805 / PDL A-14
Office Hours: Monday 1-2 p.m., Tuesday 10:30 - 11:30
Picture of Josephine Walwema
Assistant Teaching Professor
walwema@uw.edu / PDL A18
Office Hours: MW 2-4; TH 9-11
John Webster Washington
Associate Professor
Director of Writing, College of Arts & Sciences
cicero@uw.edu / 206-543-6203 / PDL A-407
Office Hours: Tue 2-4 and by appt
Alys Weinbaum
Professor
alysw@uw.edu / 206-543-7797 / PDL B-408
Office Hours: Office hours are by appointment only on T/Th after 3, and Friday. Please contact me via email to set something up.
Shawn Wong
Professor
homebase@uw.edu / 206-616-0941 / PDL B-423
Office Hours: Office hours, by appointment only (via Zoom)
Kathleen Woodward
Professor
Director of the Simpson Center for the Humanities
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities
kw1@uw.edu / 206-543-3920 / COMM 206
Office Hours: BY Appt

Emeritus Faculty

Carolyn Allen
Professor Emerita
callen@uw.edu / 206-543-7883 / PDL A-408
Office Hours: By Appointment
Photo of Charles Frey
Professor Emeritus
cfrey@uw.edu
Photo of Joan Graham
Principal Lecturer Emerita
jbgraham@uw.edu
Assistant Professor Emeritus
Malcolmg@uw.edu
Juan Guerra
Professor Emeritus
jguerra@uw.edu / 206-685-6739 / PDL B-506
Eric LaGuardia
Associate Professor Emeritus
ehl@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus
longyear@uw.edu
Photo of William Matchett
Professor Emeritus
Photo of Sally Mussetter
Associate Professor Emerita
mussette@uw.edu
Associate Professor Emerita
palomo@uw.edu
Eugene Smith
Associate Professor Emeritus
Associate Professor Emeritus
rstanton@uw.edu
James Tollefson
Professor Emeritus
tollefso@uw.edu / 206-543-2372 / PDL A-410
Associate Professor Emerita
Photo of David Wagoner
Professor Emeritus

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Officesort ascending
Mackey, Daphne Department Affiliate dmackey@uw.edu
206-543-6242
UW TOWER
Heuving, Jeanne Adjunct Professor jheuving@u.washington.edu
425 352-5354
UW Bothell Campus, UW1-Room 348
Teuton, Christopher American Indian Studies teuton@uw.edu
206 543-9082
PDL C-514
Brown, Marshall Department Affiliate, Editor, Modern Language Quarterly, Professor of Comparative Literature mbrown@uw.edu
206-543-1488
PDL B-405
Henry, Barbara Adjunct, Slavic Languages bjhenry@uw.edu
206-543-6009
PDL A211
Gray, Richard Adjunct woyzeck@uw.edu
206-543-1752
CDH 714
Groves, Jason Department Affiliate, Germanics 206-221-2566 CDH 710
Handwerk, Gary Professor handwerk@uw.edu
206-543-2183
A402
Buckroyd, Peter Study Abroad Program Faculty
Chaney, Chris Affilliate Assistan Professor cchaney@spu.edu
Roraback, Erik Affiliate Associate Professor erikr9@uw.edu